SavageRace Savage Race Reviews


Savage Race Participant Ratings

(57 Participant Ratings)
4.96 out of 5 stars

5 star 96%
4 star 4%
3 star 0%
2 star 0%
1 star 0%

Savage Race Participant Reviews

    1 2 3 6
  • Crushed my expectations

    By Paul ( 2019-02-22 , 02:57 )

    Event location:

    Pennsylvania

    Hands down this is the BEST race you can do in OCR. I have raced most of the big names in OCR and you won’t find a better race. Savage has the best obstacles by far and the terrain in Pennsylvania was amazing. Did I mention fun? The whole race a had a huge smile on my face! I have never enjoyed a race so much. Savage Race has me hooked. I live in Canada but I plan on making a drive down to a Savage Race every year. Thanks Savage Race for putting on the best race experience ever!!!!

  • I’m a Savage girl for life

    By Kelly Fragata ( 2019-01-26 , 18:32 )

    Event location:

    Charlotte Blitz 2018

    This event was so much fun. I was worried that I was going to embarrass myself, but that’s so far from the truth. The encouragement from other runners made this event so great! Can’t wait for the next one.

  • I've completed 20 plus Savage's

    By Dave Steele ( 2019-01-26 , 00:28 )

    Event location:

    All locations

    I have done all the locations they are held and love them all. Each location brings its own little special twist. Some are more flat for the runners others more hills but most of all I love the intensity of the obstacles and how well the race is put on and coordinated.

  • I've done 6 Savage Races

    By James Bartholomew ( 2019-01-25 , 19:41 )

    Event location:

    Maryland

    I first tried the Savage Race because I saw an advertisement for it on Facebook. I didn't know anyone that had previously done one or anything like that. It just looked like fun and a challenge. My first SR experience was amazing and I thought I was hooked on OCRs. However, after trying other races I found out that I'm not hooked on OCRs, I'm hooked on Savage Race because SR is the best. Savage Race has found the perfect blend of fun/challenge and you definitely get your money's worth. I am of average athletic ability but my wife's athletic ability is much lower and yet we get the same fun/challenge out of the race. She loves it as much as I do. Since starting, I have recruited 8 other people to try the race (all different athletic abilities) and everyone has loved it as well. The obstacles are innovative and fun. There is no better feeling than failing at an obstacle one race and conquering it by the next. I've done 6 (all in Maryland) and I have zero intention of ever stopping. My wife and I are also interested in trying a SR in a different state.

  • First but not the last

    By Whitney ( 2019-01-25 , 18:14 )

    Event location:

    Pennsylvania

    First mud run ever and it was awesome, obstacles were broken up pretty perfectly on my opinion. The race terrain was tricky and offered technical challenges to any seasoned trail runner even when just running, dodging branches and planning foot placement on the trails was a great test of agility. The length was perfect for me and they really had a great location, I mean a paintball course is awesome alone to run around... We were running past old planes through these castle like buildings, streams, weeds, old metal containers. Props to skirmish paintball field. We got there early and parked right next to the course. The people were great the spectators were encouraging no matter who they came to cheer on. The "official" event directors were pleasant and eager to find out if people were having a good time. It was COLD and one of the directors came up to me after I was finished and asked how I liked it, if it was challenging enough, and then told me to be sure to get warm clothes on. Felt like he actually cared. Overall an amazing experience I'd recommend to anyone, I'll definitely do it again!

  • Fantastic

    By J.R. Archer ( 2019-01-25 , 18:13 )

    Event location:

    Florida

    This race was very well run. Checkin took less than 30 seconds (compare that to over two hours at a Warrior Dash). The obstacles were on a large scale and creative. They struck a good balance between making the obstacles challenging but still fun. The MC at the starting line did a good job entertaining/getting us pumped while we waited for our wave to start. I'm definitely sticking with Savage Race for all my Mud Run needs!

  • Must do!

    By Jennie Maldonado ( 2019-01-25 , 18:11 )

    Event location:

    Georgia and Florida

    So I'm biased, Savage was my first introduction to OCR and I've been hooked ever since. I have always loved the vibe on the course and in the festival area. I started out running the open waves and I was amazed that others were always cheering for racers or offering help and suggestions. Even in the Pro wave now, there's still a great sportsmanship (but we aren't allowed to help each other physically). The obstacles are always fun and challenging. Yes, some are grip heavy and some are really tall but, they're always fun and they're always changing so you're not constantly going over the same obstacles in the same pattern. The staff at Savage is also amazing. Any customer service question or glitch and they are on it (and quickly too!). Love this race and can't wait to run my first Blitz in March.

  • Great Race

    By Tim Fagan ( 2019-01-25 , 18:05 )

    Event location:

    Maryland

    This was the first time this race was at this venue and first time I participated and I have to say, it was a great venue and race. Parking was very well organized. Check-in started slow, but quickly started to churn people through the process. There was a snafu with the National Anthem, but the organizers sang it acapella and did a great job. The obstacles were well spaced from each other to break up the run distance. They had a few "fad" obstacles (ice obstacle - Shriveled Richard, shock obstacle - Tazed) but I think in the coming seasons these will be phased out and replaced with other new challenges. The mud on this farm was like no other. It was thick and soupy at the same time. When you are crawling through the mud and you sink in up to your elbows - it makes for a tough mud crawl. I'm sure more than a pair of shoes were claimed. The race was over 5 miles and a definite challenge. I'll be back in the fall which is at Hopkins Game Farm again and looking forward to see a new layout.

  • Love Savage races!!

    By Angie ( 2019-01-25 , 18:04 )

    Event location:

    Texas 2018

    I am still new to OCRs, only having done two Savage races so far, but I am so glad I started with Savage!! I ran both TX races last year and experienced the Savage weather curse both times, but absolutely LOVED it! The crew is amazing to be able to modify under pressure with the unexpected on the fly and pull it off without any noticeable hitches. Ready for Savage TX in April!!

  • Awesome Experience

    By Josh Payne ( 2019-01-25 , 18:03 )

    Event location:

    Florida Savage Race Fall

    This was my first mud run. It was a challenging course. I thought the distance between obstacles were balanced well. You didn't have too much running in between obstacles. I liked that they had both fun and difficult obstacles to complete. Great swag medals and t-shirts. Overall great experience! Registering again for Florida Spring.